archived page


Slovenia, officially the Republic of Slovenia (Slovenian: Republika Slovenija), is a country in southern Central Europe bordering Italy to the west, the Adriatic Sea to the southwest, Croatia to the south and east, Hungary to the northeast, and Austria to the north. The capital of Slovenia is Ljubljana.

At various points in Slovenia's history, the country has been part of the Roman Empire, the Duchy of Carantania (only modern Slovenia's northern part), the Holy Roman Empire, the Habsburg Monarchy, the Austrian Empire (later known as Austria-Hungary), the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs, the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (renamed to Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929) between the two World Wars, and the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia from 1945 until gaining independence in 1991.

Slovenia is a member of the European Union, the Council of Europe and NATO.

Links about Slovenia:

Former Presidents of the Republic of Slovenia with links on theirs Archive web pages

The Year of Trubar - 2008

Slovenian Presidency of the EU 2008

Slovenian State and Public institutions on the Web

State portal of the Republic of Slovenia

Gateway to the European Union

© 2008 Office of the President of the Republic  |  Legal information and Authors  |  Site map  site map